Social Sciences

Evolutionary Mythology in the Writings of Kurt Vonnegut: Darwin, Vonnegut and the Construction of an American Culture

Author: 

McInnis, Gilbert

Credentials: 

Ph.D Laval University; D/English Acadia University, Nova Scotia

This research monograph is an important contribution to the study of the author, Kurt Vonnegut and the great evolutionary scientist Charles Darwin. The book examines Darwin’s influence on the American culture that were Vonnegut's major focus and interest and the source of his importance as a major American writer of the later half of the 20th century.

Market: 
Literary Studies/American Literature, , Kurt Vonnegut, Charles Darwin, Evolutionary Theory in Literature, American Studies, Science Fiction
Release Date: 
September 15, 2010
ISBN: 
Cloth: 978-1-933146-99-7; 193314699-0
Price: 
$79.95USD
Trim Size: 
6x9
Pages: 
264
Illustrations: 
None
Yes
Publisher: 

ACADEMICA PRESS
1727 Massachusetts Avenue, NW, Suite 507
Washington, DC 20036

Creating Political Equality: American Elections as a Public Good

Author: 

Mandle, Jay R.

Credentials: 

W. Bradford Wiley Professor of Economics, Colgate University. Author of DEMOCRACY, AMERICA and the AGE OF GLOBALIZATION(Cambridge University Press, 2008), GLOBALIZATION and the POOR(Cambridge University Press, 2003)

This study uniquely and systematically makes the argument that the electoral process in America should be considered as a public good. This argument is placed in the context of an examination of campaign funding and historical attempts at reform. It furthermore is more analytic than anything in the field in tracing the connections between our system of private funding of electoral campaigns and specific difficulties that the country has encountered with regard to the environment, health care, and the financial crisis.

Market: 
American Elections/Voting, Economics of Political Campaigns, Funding of American Elections, Economics of Political Reform, National Electoral Reform, Popular Movements, Social Change in America
Release Date: 
6/2010
ISBN: 
Cloth: 978-1-933146-90-4/ 1933146-90-7
Price: 
$69.95
Trim Size: 
6x9
Pages: 
204
Illustrations: 
Yes
Yes
Publisher: 

ACADEMICA PRESS
1727 Massachusetts Avenue, NW, Suite 507
Washington, DC 20036

The Committee of Vigilance: The Law and Order Committee of the San Francisco Chamber of Commerce and Its War Against the Left, 1916 - 1919

Author: 

Levi, Steven C.

Credentials: 

Independent Scholar/Author specializing in California and Alaskan History; Boom and Bust in the Alaska Goldfields, Greenwood, 2007

In THE COMMITTEE OF VIGILANCE Steven Levi discusses and analyzes the rise and fall of the last of the old western vigilance committees---and the rise of the first modern American committee devoted to ferreting out “Un- American activities”among the laboring poor,union leaders, progressive politicians and social activists. The Preparedness Day bombing of 1916 was the catalyst(along with the Los Angeles Times bombing several years earlier) for full scale civic strife and class violence in San Francisco.

Market: 
Labor History,U.S.,California History,20th c, San Francisco,World War 1,the Progressive Movement, American Anarchism,American Penal/Corrections history, Origins of Terrorism, Socialism,20th c.
Release Date: 
12/2009
ISBN: 
Paper: 978-1-933146799/ 1933146-79-6
Price: 
$49.95
Trim Size: 
6 x 9
Pages: 
264
Illustrations: 
Yes
Yes
Publisher: 

ACADEMICA PRESS
1727 Massachusetts Avenue, NW, Suite 507
Washington, DC 20036

British Novelists and Indian Nationalism Contrasting Approaches in the Works of Mary Margaret Kaye, James Gordon Farrell and Zadie Smith

Author: 

Kalpakli, Fatma

Credentials: 

Ph.D; Department of English Language and Literature, Selcuk University, Konya (Turkey)

This is an intriguing and groundbreaking study by a scholar who not only is not British nor Indian but belongs to a society that has had its own imperial history as well as having a strong ,revitalizing nationalist movement in the 20th c. It is through this prism that Dr Kapakli discusses,compares and contrasts Indian nationalism in three seminal novels. The novels in question are Shadow of the Moon (1957)by Mary Margaret Kaye, the Siege of Knishnapur(1973) by James Gordon Smith and White Teeth (2000)by Zadie Smith.

Market: 
India in 20th C British Literature,Indian nationalism in British writing,the 20th Novel of India ,Comparative Literature, Cultural Studies
Release Date: 
10/2009
ISBN: 
Cloth: 978-1-933146-77-5 / 1933146-77-X
Price: 
$79.95
Trim Size: 
6 x 9
Pages: 
264
Illustrations: 
None
Yes
Publisher: 

ACADEMICA PRESS
1727 Massachusetts Avenue, NW, Suite 507
Washington, DC 20036

The New Medical Sociology: Compelling Current Narratives

Author: 

Sperber, Irwin

Credentials: 

Ph.D. Sociology; Professor, SUNY New Paltz

In the tradition of C. Wright Mills and Irving Goffman, this monograph brings current research and insight to a social science research area famed for its fissiparous polemical battles. Sperber surveys the field from Durkheim to the present and discusses both the origins of the Radical and neo-Marxist perspective as well as the mainstream, functionalist school of research.

Market: 
Medical Sociology; Medicine and Society, Cultural Sociology, Social Anthropology
Release Date: 
11/2009
ISBN: 
Paper: 978-1-933146-56-0 / 193314656-7
Price: 
$44.95
Trim Size: 
6 x 9
Pages: 
324
Illustrations: 
Yes
Yes
Publisher: 

ACADEMICA PRESS
1727 Massachusetts Avenue, NW, Suite 507
Washington, DC 20036

Action Research for Higher Educators

Author: 

Schmuck, Richard A. and Stevenson, Joseph Martin

Credentials: 

A social psychologist of education, Richard Schmuck is Professor Emeritus at the University of Oregon. He has a Ph.D from University of Michigan and is the author of 22 books and 194 articles. Joseph Stevenson is Senior Vice-President and University Provost at Mississippi Valley State University and is a graduate of the University of Oregon (he was the first African-American male Ph.D in Educational Policy & Management at Oregon) and Harvard University (Institute for Educational Management). He is the author of several monographs including the well received Modernizing the College Curriculum (Academica Press).

This work is a scholarly monograph for practical use for higher education faculties. Specifically the monograph is aimed at faculties in historically Black and minority colleges and universities but its scope also includes the hundreds of state and private institutions that are trying to raise the level of research engagement among their core faculty.

Market: 
Educational Policy & Management, Minority faculty development, Research management and development,Educational Achievement ,Faculty development, Historically under served college populations,Reference
Release Date: 
12/2009
ISBN: 
Paper: 978-1-933146-85-0/1933146-85-0
Price: 
$49.95
Trim Size: 
6 x 9
Pages: 
124
Illustrations: 
Yes - Statistical and informational armature: tables and graphs
Yes
Publisher: 

ACADEMICA PRESS
1727 Massachusetts Avenue, NW, Suite 507
Washington, DC 20036

Europeanism and European Union: Interests,Emotions and Systemic Integration, in the Early European Economic Union,1954 - 1966

Author: 

Vanke, Jeffrey

Credentials: 

Ph.D, History, Harvard University

The fact of postwar European integration is only half of an extraordinary story. The six founding countries were unique from their neighbors and from their own histories. After 1945, the Six recast their nationalisms not only to discard extremism, but also to adopt Europeanism -- an emotive drive to create unprecedented institutions of European unity.

Market: 
EEC, European Union, Postwar integration (History) ,Modern European History, Economic History of Europe,1945 -
Release Date: 
10/2009
ISBN: 
Cloth: 978-1-93314674-4/ 1933146-74-5
Price: 
$82.95
Trim Size: 
6 x 9
Pages: 
1020
Illustrations: 
None
Yes
Publisher: 

ACADEMICA PRESS
1727 Massachusetts Avenue, NW, Suite 507
Washington, DC 20036

The Irish American Myth of the Frontier West

Author: 

Quintelli-Neary, Marguerite

Credentials: 

Ph.D University of Delaware; D/English Winthrop University

This is the first research monograph to study the interstices between native Irish folklore and the emerging myth of the American West during the last frontier period (1860 – 1890). It begins with by tracing the role of Irish pioneers and their contributions to the westward migration and then examines the many parallel developments between the myths of Ireland and those that would come to define the American West.

Market: 
Western American History, Irish American Studies, American Folklore Studies, 19th C America, Irish Studies
Release Date: 
02/2008
ISBN: 
Cloth: 193314646-X; EAN 978-1-933146-1
Price: 
$72.95
Trim Size: 
6 x 9
Pages: 
184
Illustrations: 
Yes
Yes
Publisher: 

ACADEMICA PRESS
1727 Massachusetts Avenue, NW, Suite 507
Washington, DC 20036

Irish American Folklore in New England

Author: 

Quinn, E. Moore

Credentials: 

Ph.D. Harvard; Professor of Linguistic Anthropology and Folklore, College of Charleston

Informed by analysis from classic and state of the art folklore scholarship, anthropological poetics, ethnic studies and recovery research on the Great Irish Famine(1845-1852),this scholarly monograph serves as a collection and analysis of "as-remembered" Irish-American folklore from New England and as such is an unparalleled study of Irish-American historical memory.

Market: 
Irish Studies, Forklore(New England),Anthropology, Sociolinguistics ;Social Science
Release Date: 
02/2009
ISBN: 
Cloth: 978-1-930901-82-7 / 193090182-8
Price: 
$79.95
Trim Size: 
6 x 9
Pages: 
418
Illustrations: 
None
Yes
Publisher: 

ACADEMICA PRESS
1727 Massachusetts Avenue, NW, Suite 507
Washington, DC 20036

The Origins of English Literary Modernism, 1870 – 1914

Author: 

Tague, Gregory, Editor

Credentials: 

Ph.D, Professor of English, St.Francis College, NY, author of Ethos and Behavior: The English Novel from Jane Austen to Thomas Hardy (Bethesda, 2005)

The aim of this work is to focus on the non-dramatic works of the early period of modernism in England with an emphasis on the origins and development of key writers and poets. Other such studies date to the mid1980s (Michael Levenson, Sanford Schwartz, Stan Smith, e.g.) and tend to lean heavily toward intellectual history or poetics.

Market: 
Origins of Modernism, English Literary Studies 19th and 20th c, English Novel, Poets/Poetry late 19thand early 20th century
Release Date: 
10/2008
ISBN: 
Cloth: 978-1-933146-48-5/ 193314648-6
Price: 
$79.95
Trim Size: 
6 x 9
Pages: 
364
Illustrations: 
None
Yes
Publisher: 

ACADEMICA PRESS
1727 Massachusetts Avenue, NW, Suite 507
Washington, DC 20036

Syndicate content