try another color:
try another fontsize: 60% 70% 80% 90%

The New Medical Sociology: Compelling Current Narratives

Author: 
Sperber, Irwin
Credentials: 
Ph.D. Sociology; Professor, SUNY New Paltz

In the tradition of C. Wright Mills and Irving Goffman, this monograph brings current research and insight to a social science research area famed for its fissiparous polemical battles. Sperber surveys the field from Durkheim to the present and discusses both the origins of the Radical and neo-Marxist perspective as well as the mainstream, functionalist school of research. The work’s unique theoretical contribution lies in several areas: Sperber proposes that some of the diseases of modern civilization (Spanish flu epidemic of 1918,cancer,systemic lupus, heart disease, chronic depression among others) can be effectively explained,diagnosed and treated only when a systematic sociological perspective is brought to bear on them. Sperber also argues forcefully for a progressive, critical view of the field in language that is clear, forceful and persuasive.

“Not only thorough but a major addition to the field. Recommended for research libraries and institutions, especially centers of medical research. Does what American sociology has always done best---explain ourselves to ourselves with an almost religious intensity” Professor H.Richardson, Lampeter,Wales

Market: 
Medical Sociology; Medicine and Society, Cultural Sociology, Social Anthropology
Release Date: 
11/2009
ISBN: 
Paper: 978-1-933146-56-0 / 193314656-7
Price: 
$44.95
Trim Size: 
6 x 9
Pages: 
324
Index: 
Yes
Bibliography: 
Yes
Illustrations: 
Yes
CIP: 
Yes
Publisher: 

ACADEMICA PRESS
1727 Massachusetts Avenue, NW, Suite 507
Washington, DC 20036

Irish Research Series: 
No